High Schools
Naramau, St. Xavier's High School
Address : St. Xavier’s Mission, Pargahi, Kachar, Naramau, Kanpur City – 209 217
Phone : 0512 – 2770375, 2770325
Manager : Rev. Fr. Leo SequeiraLobo
Principal : Rev. Fr. Melwin Wilson D’Souza
Vice Principal : Rev. Fr. Ronald Noronha
Medium : English
Board : UP State Board

A Brief History:
The school is situated in one of the healthiest localities of Kanpur between Naramau and Mandhana. It is well connected by road. It caters to the educational needs of Naramau, IT Gate, Kalyanpur, Mandhana, Ramnagar, Tatiyaganj, Chaubepur, Shivrajpur, Uttari-Pura, etc. One can easily reach the place from any part of Kanpur by road.

St. Xavier’s School, Naramau, Kanpur, is a co-educational day school, established in 1986 and administered by a Christian Minority, i.e. Roman Catholic (R.C.) Diocese of Allahabad under Article 30 (1) of the Constitution of India. The school is governed by Diocese of Allahabad Education Society, as registered body whose Director General is the Bishop. It exists principally to cater to the educational needs of the Catholic children but admission is also open to non-Christians on the basis of merit without any discrimination of caste, creed or culture.

Late Rev. Fr. Antony Pinto had bought a piece of land at Naramau in the year 2007. The place was about 13 km from St. Francis Xavier’s Church, Ashok Nagar Kanpur, and almost 4 km after I.I.T. Kanpur. He established a mission station in the name of St. Xavier’s Mission. In those days there were no good schools in the locality. Therefore the need was felt to establish a mission school. Under the guidance of then Bishop Late Rt. Rev. John Baptist Mudhartha, Rev. Fr. Francis Pereira started the school in the year 1986.

The school became famous not only in the nearby villages but also in faraway villages such as Chaubepur, Shivrajpur, Uttari Pura, Bilhaur etc. There were many students from those places. Late Rev. Fr. Francis Pereira tried his level best to give quality education to the students. During his tenure Sisters of Daughters of Sacred Heart opened their convent and started rendering their services in the school. Even at that time the school was divided into houses and there were regular co-curricular activities. A special attention was given to sports activities.

In the year 1994, Rev. Fr. James Francis became the Principal of the school. He brought about many changes in the school. He worked hard to improve the standard of the school. Rev. Fr. Fredrick D’Souza became the Principal in the year 1997. Due to his dedication and hard work the school got recognition for High School from the Uttar Pradesh Madhymik Parishad. He had the dream of upgrading the school to Intermediate, so the classes were started but due to various constraints could not secure recognition.

The tenure of Rev. Fr. Fredrick D’Souza lasted till 2005. Late Rev. Fr. Michael Martin took over as the Principal in the year 2005. Despite of his ill health, he paid utmost attention for the betterment of the school. Rev. Fr. Melwin Wilson D’Souza took over as the Principal in 2009. Since then the school has started to move on the upward trajectory.

The principals were assisted by able Vice-Principals such as Late Rev. Fr. Michael D’Souza (1997 – 1999), Rev. Fr. Archibald D’Silva (1999 – 2002), Rev. Fr. Deepak Oswald D’Souza (2002 – 2003), Rev. Fr. Vincent Pereira (2003 – 2006), Rev. Fr. Prem Prakash Lakra (2006 – 2009) and presently Rev. Fr. Leslie Benedict Cutinha (2009 till date).

On 1st December 2011 the school celebrated the Silver Jubilee of its existence. Most Rev. Isidore Fernandes, Bishop of Roman Catholic Diocese of Allahabad, was the Chief Guest and Dr. G. C. Tewari, Vice Chancellor of CSA University of Agriculture and Technology, Kanpur, was the Guest of Honour. The students presented a spectacular cultural programme in which the former Principals, Vice-Principals and teachers were felicitated.

St. Xavier’s school, Naramau, Kanpur is doing a wonderful work of educating the rural children by giving them quality education in English.


Rev. Fr. Francis Pereira : 1986 – 1994
Rev. Fr. James Francis : 1994 – 1996
Rev. Fr. Fredrick D’Souza : 1997 – 2005
Late Rev. Fr. Michael Martin : 2005 – 2009
Rev. Fr. Melwin Wilson D’Souza : 2009 – till date


Rev. Fr. Michael D’Souza : 1997 – 1999
Rev. Fr. Archibald D’Silva : 1999 – 2002
Rev. Fr. Deepak Oswald D’Souza : 2002 - 2003
Rev. Fr. Vincent Pereira : 2003 – 2006
Rev. Fr. Prem Prakash Lakra : 2006 – 2009
Rev. Fr. Leslie Benedict Cutinha : 2009 – 2012
Rev. Fr. Ronald Noronha : 2012 – to date
  • Give me back the joy of your salvation, sustain in me a generous spirit.
  • Give me back the joy of your salvation, sustain in me a generous spirit.