High Schools
Obra, Sacred Heart Sec. School
Address : Sacred Heart Convent School, Obra, Sonebhadra Dt – 231 219
Phone : 05445-262036
Email : obrashss@rediffmail.com
Website : www.shcsobra.org
Principal : Rev. Sr. Kiran George UMI
Medium : English
Board : CBSE

A Brief History:
Sacred Heart Convent School is one of the oldest co-educational institutions of Obra city. It is situated on 6 acres of lush green campus on the backdrop of Verdant hillocks, on VIP Road. The school was established in 1965 to cater to the need of provding English medium education to the children of U.P.S.E.B employees. It is a Christian Institution established and administered by the Religious Congregation of the URSULINES OF MARY IMMACULATE founded by Blessed Mother Bridgida of Jesus in1649. Since its inception the school has been a trailblazer in the field of education, development of skills and character formation. It got affiliation with CBSE New Delhi in 1979 and conducts classes up to Std. X. In its glorious history, the school has undergone several changes, in terms of location (it was first started in office club No1) and structure (physical and academic). Volume and status change, invariably bring crises and problems but the school was sufficiently resilient and buoyant; and enriched in maturity to weather them. It is a matter of great pride that even today Sacred Heart Convent School, is one of the pioneer Institutions in the domain of Secondary Education in Sonbhadra Dist. U.P.

Today it has an imposing strength of 1600 students and 50 staff members. The extraordinary results in CBSE class X examination bear testimony of the fact achieving the higher level in the filed of academics. But our achievement would have been naught if great principals with illustrious career to their credit had not guided our Alma Mater. The personalities who occupied the chair and enriched the school with glory and prestige are as follows:

1 Sr. Angela July 1965 to June 1971
2 Sr. Esther July 1971 to June 1974
3 Sr. Claudia July 1974 to June 1978
4 Sr. Christopher July 1978 to June 1980
5 Sr. Stella Ann July 1980 to June 1981
6 Sr. Theophane July 1981 to June 1983
7 Sr. Fabiola July 1983 to June 1986
8 Sr. Raymond July 1986 to June 1988
9 Sr. Clare July 1988 to June 1991
10 Sr. Celestia July 1991 to June 1993
11 Sr. Josy July 1933 to June 1997
12 Sr. Yvette July 1997 to June 2000
13 Sr. Nirupa July 2000 to June 2004
14 Sr. Prabha July 2004 to June 2009
15 Sr. Jeane July 2009 to June 2010
16 Sr. Kiran George July 2010 to till date
  • Give me back the joy of your salvation, sustain in me a generous spirit.
  • Give me back the joy of your salvation, sustain in me a generous spirit.